Wrap it up

19122013541

The most beautiful, luxurious present wrapping I’ve ever done.  It didn’t cost me a penny and I hope it will be reused many times. Perhaps I’ll get it back next year.  By next year I plan to extend the range.  I won’t always have old silk-like curtains (although I’ll keep an eye out) but may try some vegetable dye on old sheets.

In the past I’ve always re-used paper and if buying new have tried to get the recycled kind from Oxfam or similar.  My mum used to iron the paper after Christmas and roll it up for the following year. I was never that organised.  You can buy material wrap but it seemed very expensive to me – fair enough in that someone is trying to make a living from an eco idea.  Lengths of patterned fabric would cost less.  Either way it’s good value if it keeps getting re-used.  The energy use of ironing the wrapping will be much less than goes into the miles of stuff which gets thrown away each year.  Perhaps one day it won’t even seem eccentric.

Happy wrapping & Happy Christmas.

Leave a comment